The Artful Cake Starts Blogging!

So I finally decided to catch up with modern times and start a blog about the cake experiences, insights, and happenings at The Artful Cake!  And it’s a perfect week to do so as I created one of my all time favorite cakes this week!   I created a full size electric guitar for a surprise 30th birthday! The cake was inspired by a photo given to me of a cake from The Pink Cake Box (Anne Heap’s cakes are awesome!) but customized to look like the birthday boy’s electric guitar.  I couldn’t have been happier with how it turned out!Electric Guitar CakeElectric Guitar Cake Side ViewElectric Guitar Cake Detail

14 Comments

Filed under Music Related Cakes

14 responses to “The Artful Cake Starts Blogging!

  1. Liz

    Yay, Amanda! I can’t wait to follow your blog!

  2. Jennifer Rodriguez

    Brilliant Amanda!!!! You go girl!!! Bet it is delicious, YUM.

  3. I have no idea how you did that… Absolutely amazing! You are truly talented!!!

    -Elise 🙂

  4. Myrna

    I was the mother of the birthday boy that the guitar cake was for. It was absolutely awesome. An identical replica of his guitar. Thanks for doing such a great job!

  5. Brooke

    This cake was for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday party. He loooved it! It turned out perfectly and was a huge hit at the party! I couldn’t have asked for better! It tasted great to!
    THANK YOU soooo much Amanda you really made his birthday special:)

  6. Cristen

    Definitely your best yet. Great job, Amanda!

  7. Gladys

    Hi Amanda!

    Beautiful cake! I would like to know if you used regular wires for the strings.

    Please keep posting your creations so we can learn from the pro. Whenever its possible, could you kind of explain how you put the cakes together? That will be great. Now you have another fan.

    Thank you.

    • Hi Gladys, I have been horrible at updating my blog but am trying to get back on the blogging wagon again! I will definitely post How To’s on some of the techniques I use. Thanks so much for the feedback and please see the following comment reply to Taheerah about the guitar strings.

  8. This is fantastic! Can you let me know what you used for the strings? Thanks!

    • The guitar strings are actually uncooked angel hair pasta. They are laid down end to end, secured with royal icing at points underneath and painted with silver luster and lemon extract.

      • Thanks so much for the reply! What a great idea, I’ll have to try that next time! I’m using some fine jewellery wise that I’ve twisted together to make different thicknesses of strings, has turned out pretty well!

      • Sue

        Love the cake, the idea of the angel hair pasta for the strings is great. Where did you such long longs of it?
        Thanks

      • Thanks Sue! They are actually regular sized strands of angel hair pasta but layed out end to end to look seamless.

  9. Lorie

    ha ha, i made my friend Herald an aqua blue electric guitar birthday cake for his 16th birthday! guitar cakes are so rad!

Leave a Reply

